2.0.1 beta

Official announcements from Algoryx and the Algodoo team. Updates, official contests, news, etc.

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:36 pm

Banjerboef wrote:Why is Internet Explorer not supported?
It is the most used web browser.


When drag-dropping things into Algodoo, I get a set of data (text) which I look at. When dropping images from firefox, safari or chrome I get a text with the image url in it. When dropping things from Internet Explorer, I get no such thing, and I don't know why. It's not an intentional exclusion, just a shortcomming of either IE or Qt (the library that gives me the drop-information).
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:55 pm

emilk wrote:
Banjerboef wrote:Why is Internet Explorer not supported?
It is the most used web browser.


When drag-dropping things into Algodoo, I get a set of data (text) which I look at. When dropping images from firefox, safari or chrome I get a text with the image url in it. When dropping things from Internet Explorer, I get no such thing, and I don't know why. It's not an intentional exclusion, just a shortcomming of either IE or Qt (the library that gives me the drop-information).


Well, lukily I don't use IE, because it has a lot of leaks in it and because it's a rubbish browser.
I use FireFox and Safari instead, they are just better if you look at the futures.

By the way, the drag and drop doesn't work really well.
It makes more mistakes than I can count.
It removes stuff that shouldn't be removed.
So, the background detection needs some improvement.
Some of my pictures work, but most of them don't.
While 90% of them have a white or black background.
Maybe I am using the wrong pictures.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby tatt61880 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:20 pm

emilk wrote:
Banjerboef wrote:Why is Internet Explorer not supported?
It is the most used web browser.


When drag-dropping things into Algodoo, I get a set of data (text) which I look at. When dropping images from firefox, safari or chrome I get a text with the image url in it. When dropping things from Internet Explorer, I get no such thing, and I don't know why. It's not an intentional exclusion, just a shortcomming of either IE or Qt (the library that gives me the drop-information).


Some images can be drag and drop into Algodoo with Internet Explorer.
Next page has this kind of image.
Phn_output for Inkscape (for Phun/Algodoo users)
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:26 pm

Beta 5 available:

* FIX: Bug when calculating rotational kinetic energy for bodies that made it appear as if energy was increasing when in fact it was not.
* FIX: Scene save overwrite dialog's "Save as foo_0000.phz" not working.
* FIX: Chain tool drawing in white even on white background.
* FIX: Some start up issues.
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:59 pm

Banjerboef wrote:By the way, the drag and drop doesn't work really well.
It makes more mistakes than I can count.
It removes stuff that shouldn't be removed.
So, the background detection needs some improvement.
Some of my pictures work, but most of them don't.
While 90% of them have a white or black background.
Maybe I am using the wrong pictures.


First of all, please distinguish between the drag-and-drop and the background removal. What isn't working well?
Second: the background removal is meant for clip-art like images. It won't handle photos and the like very well, nor will it handle small details. That's just a hard problem to solve in general, and I don't feel like that is or should be a core feature of Algodoo.
Third: If it fails for a simple (clipart-ish) image and you feel like it should handle it, please suppy a link to that image and I will take a look.

For example images that work pretty well: http://goo.gl/RuoIf

Also, it doesn't have to be perfect. You can improve a result by using the eraser and knife. You can also select the image, and then enlargen it with the brush tool to recover parts that has been removed that shouldn't have been.
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:09 pm

emilk wrote:First of all, please distinguish between the drag-and-drop and the background removal. What isn't working well?
Second: the background removal is meant for clip-art like images. It won't handle photos and the like very well, nor will it handle small details. That's just a hard problem to solve in general, and I don't feel like that is or should be a core feature of Algodoo.
Third: If it fails for a simple (clipart-ish) image and you feel like it should handle it, please suppy a link to that image and I will take a look.


The thing that doesn't work is the background removal itself.
For example if I take a screenshot made in Algodoo (with in the middle a nice looking car), it should be an easy task for the background removal to remove the background (just two colors, blue and green). The background removal removes a part of the car too in this case. I will look if I can upload the car, so you can use the screenshot from the .phi file.

I agree it shouldn't be a core feature, but if you have it it should at least ... work.

I did try clipart images, but the lines are very rough while the picture I used was smooth.
I will look for the image I used on the internet and post a link here, so you can take a look at it.

If I have the time, I will select a few images and post the link here.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Matten » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:32 pm

Banjerboef wrote:I did try clipart images, but the lines are very rough while the picture I used was smooth.

That's probably because the image has anti-aliasing, and Algodoo removes the more white part of it. Then you're left with some rough anti-aliasing, which will make the image look more rough.
User avatar
Matten
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:53 am

Here is the link to the pictures I tested: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UKNZ59HO
There are two folders, does work and doesn't work.
Feel free to try them yourself.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:57 pm

Banjerboef: For Algodoo to know what is background, the background color has to go all the way to the border of the image, which is why "1 (2).jpg", "1.jpg" and "2.jpg" doesn't work.

"The Most Strangest Airplanes Around The World (6).jpg" doesn't work because the plane and the background is to similairly colored. "wallpaper5.jpg" works pretty well as far as I can tell, and the rest of the images in the "Doesn't work" folder all fail to have on solid color as background (no, gradien't and clouds just won't work).

For good background removal, I suggest using something like photoshop.

Or you can try playing around with the Algodoo parameters in App.GUI.geomGen_*
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:21 pm

emilk wrote:For good background removal, I suggest using something like photoshop.

Or you can try playing around with the Algodoo parameters in App.GUI.geomGen_*


I know that the pictures in the "doesn't work" folder don't work because they don't have a single colored backgound.
But I had to try them, some of the results are close but not good enough.
It was a collection of pictures I tried in Algodoo, so I didn't expect them to be perfect candidates for background removal.
I just tried a lot of pictures to see what was working and what not.

The burger image wasn't perfect either, but it the result was good enough for me.
The white lines around the burger where too thick, while the complete background is a single color that should have been removed. And I know that the background was a single color, because I made the burger myself in Adobe Flash for a Flash animation I was working on (the picture of the man was done by me too).
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:06 pm

Beta 6, with the following changes

* NEW: Added check/uncheck all buttons to options->layers as well as to the force visualization menu.
* IMP: Added popup message when failing to rename a file in the file browser.
* IMP: Algodoo now always starts full screen after first install.
* IMP: User textures will now be copied to Algodoo/textures/ directory.
* FIX: Rare source of crash that could occur when unlocking Algodoo on Windows.
* FIX: Entering a bad serial key temporarily re-locking an already unlocked Algodoo.

The texture copying solves the problem of long and cumbersome texture paths that get bundled into the .phz:s. Please test to make sure this works as expected with both old and new scenes!
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:37 pm

My god, Algodoo got enormously quick.
First start-up took 5 seconds and the second start-up took 2 seconds.
Awesome!!!
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Ivan » Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:49 pm

Where does Algodoo get the translations for some elements of the lessons window like 'Previous', 'Next' and 'Upload file'?
Some of them are not really perfect for my language (Croatian).

Also, there is a little mistake in the translation file:
line 1733: 'lesson-keystage5' => 'Key Stage 5',
line 1734: 'lesson-keystage5' => 'Key Stage 6',
User avatar
Ivan
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Emanuel » Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:34 pm

Ivan wrote:Where does Algodoo get the translations for some elements of the lessons window like 'Previous', 'Next' and 'Upload file'?
Some of them are not really perfect for my language (Croatian).

Also, there is a little mistake in the translation file:
line 1733: 'lesson-keystage5' => 'Key Stage 5',
line 1734: 'lesson-keystage5' => 'Key Stage 6',

Thanks, it has been fixed!
Some phrases are already translated by the mediawiki project, but can be changed if you feel they could be better.

/ Emanuel
Algodoo Developer
Emanuel
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:46 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:37 am

Banjerboef wrote:My god, Algodoo got enormously quick.
First start-up took 5 seconds and the second start-up took 2 seconds.
Awesome!!!


Glad that you're glad! Did this come about in beta 6? And how long time did it take before?
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:50 am

emilk wrote:
Banjerboef wrote:My god, Algodoo got enormously quick.
First start-up took 5 seconds and the second start-up took 2 seconds.
Awesome!!!


Glad that you're glad! Did this come about in beta 6? And how long time did it take before?


Yes, since beta 6 it's all faster.
It does depend on what the size is of the 'on exit save', but in most cases it is really fast.
Before it took about 5 seconds (or slower) for Algodoo to start, now it's about 2 seconds.
The slowest I have seen with the newest beta is about 3 seconds.

For the old laptop I am gaming on, these results are very good.
They prove that old stuff can be good too.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:04 pm

Here's beta 7:

* FIX: Total force arrow color (once again it is red).
* FIX: Issue with drag-and-drop of components from the component browser.
* FIX: Issue with Algodoo claiming no Internet connection when browsing own scenes/components (caused by failure of finding "My Documents" for whatever reason).

Original post updated!
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby tatt61880 » Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:35 pm

emilk wrote:* FIX: Total force arrow color (once again it is red).


Still white. Is this only for my environment?
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Banjerboef » Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:45 pm

Algodoo b7 got faster, again.
I am watching a movie, surfing on the internet and using Algodoo at the same time.
And with all this stuff at the same time, Algodoo still manages to start up in less than 2 seconds.
That's very good!!!
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:46 pm

tatt61880 wrote:
emilk wrote:* FIX: Total force arrow color (once again it is red).


Still white. Is this only for my environment?


Oops - forgot to fix it :)

Will be fixed in next
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby Sonic » Thu Nov 17, 2011 9:06 pm

Man Emil, you are just busting out updates left and right! Nice job man! Hope they're paying you extra!
User avatar
Sonic
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: America!!!

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:39 pm

Beta 8:

* NEW: Added helpful Thyme command "Scene.MakeModern" to update a scene:s settings to the modern Algodoo version. Will change simulation settings and legacyMode:s.
* IMP: Improved culling of small force/velocity/momentum arrows.
* IMP: Sim.positionsLast now true by default, fixing issue where the force arrows of moving objects would be wrong when simulation was paused.
* FIX: When a tutorial highlights a button in the GUI, the window containing the button will be moved on top of other windows.
* FIX: Saving a scene as alternative file name (e.g. "foo_0000.phz") will now change the scene title.
* FIX: Premature culling of hinge force arrows.

Get it while it's hot!
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:35 pm

Beta 9 for windows uploaded, it has a few bug fixes and also a brand new crash reporter (called CrashRpt). It will ask you to send a crash report to algoryx if Algodoo crashes. This should hopefulyl help us solve such crashes in the future.

The changes in this edition are:

* NEW: Algodoo now uses CrashRpt (Windows only) to catch crashes and ask the user to send in a crash report to Algoryx.
* FIX: Issue with invalid characters in scene file name.
* FIX: Issue with expanding force description fields.
* FIX: Rare issue with large text fields not drawing top part.
* FIX: Added ellipsis (...) to large "surface" script menu attribute for polygons
* FIX: Big memory leak problem, from earlier beta

As usual, the first post has been updated.
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby emilk » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:41 pm

Beta 10 hopefully fixes the issue some have been having with Algodoo crashing on startup.

* FIX: A bug that would sometimes cause Algodoo to crash on startup.
* FIX: Issue where some bad polygons would make Algodoo hang.

Link is in the first post!
Emil Ernerfeldt, lead developer
emilk
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: 2.0.1 beta

Postby tatt61880 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:53 pm

emilk wrote:Beta 10 hopefully fixes the issue some have been having with Algodoo crashing on startup.

* FIX: A bug that would sometimes cause Algodoo to crash on startup.
* FIX: Issue where some bad polygons would make Algodoo hang.

Link is in the first post!

:clap:
Btw, please remember to update Readme.txt. ;)
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PreviousNext

Return to Official announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest