Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Post questions about the webshop. NEVER post credit card information, license keys or any other personal information.

Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Postby airplaneksbd » Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:29 pm

Algodoo used to work on my PC but now it doesn't. Can anyone help? Thanks! :crazy:

PC Info:

cpu: Dell Optiplex 170L

os: Microsoft Windows XP SP3

ram: 1GB

videocard: 128 MB, 3D

pentinum4
airplaneksbd
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Postby Kilinich » Sun Apr 27, 2014 1:17 am

Looks like your videocard (and whole PC too) is outdated. :ugeek:
Dream of Algodoo as game development engine...
User avatar
Kilinich
[Best bug reporter 2010]
 
Posts: 2098
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: South Russia

Re: Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Postby airplaneksbd » Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:23 am

Oh.. that sucks... but Unity 3D works on my computer fine. Game Maker does as well... so I don't get it...
airplaneksbd
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Postby jon_joy_1999 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:00 am

airplaneksbd wrote:Oh.. that sucks... but Unity 3D works on my computer fine. Game Maker does as well... so I don't get it...

unsurprising, since Algodoo is not made in Game Maker, or Unity 3D, and therefore has different requirements from either of these two software
Image
BSrac = BoincStats recent average credit
I'd rather be network computing.
jon_joy_1999
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:51 am

Re: Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Postby airplaneksbd » Thu May 01, 2014 3:32 am

I even have shader 3.0 support, so I guess my PC is just outdated.
airplaneksbd
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Algodoo used to work but now it doesn't?

Postby electronicboy » Mon May 05, 2014 11:49 am

Algodoo uses openGL in order to support most operating systems, while Unity3D is probably set to use DirectX by default.

openGL has the issue where one vendors implementation of the standard isn't exactly the same as the others, and the number of openGL versions in use ranges vastly. Check my sticky in the Help/Bug section of the forums if you want to read more about the issue, however best thing I can really suggest is to look into getting a new computer and throwing that one in a museum!
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm


Return to Webshop FAQ and support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron