Page 1 of 3

2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:56 am
by emilk
Sorry for the long silence - I've been working on taking Algodoo onto a new platform, and more info about that will be posted soon. In the meantime, I thought I'd share a new beta with you all!

The changes since 2.0.2 are not major, but there are some things in there I'm sure you'll appreciate. Here's an abbreviated list:


Algodoo 2.1.0 b13:

* NEW: Simulation frequency slider in options
* NEW: Custom-textured springs
* NEW: Entity events:
** onClick - called when user clicks an entity
** onKey - called on each key press
** onSpawn - called when an entity is created
** onDie - called when an entity is killed
** postStep - called after each simulation step
** update - called each frame
* NEW: Entity attributes:
** timeToLive (in seconds)
** pos/vel/angle/angvel
** velocityDamping - for steadily slowing things down
** area (read-only)
* NEW: script functions:
** math.vec. functions - dist, distSq, len, lenSq
** keys.isDown function
* IMP: Sim frequency now 60 Hz by default (matches most display refresh rates)
* IMP: Quicker rendering
* IMP: Faster solver
* FIX: A lot of fixes and tweaks

electronicboy wrote:Please note, that as of Algodoo 2.1.0, the rendering system has been upgraded to improve performance, however, this has caused some legacy code to be removed, such as fallback methods. As a result of now, a minimum of openGL 2.1 is required.

Although this may seam like a big setback, a graphics card or computer from within the past few years will more then likely support this, and in desktops, it is possible to upgrade your card fairly cheaply.


And here is the link for Windows: http://www.algodoo.com/download/Algodoo ... -Win32.exe
And for Mac OS X: http://www.algodoo.com/download/Algodoo ... -MacOS.dmg

Re: 2.1.0

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:53 pm
by monstertje3
Very good job, however in the script menu i can find 'timetolive', it works somewhat buggy, if the object dissapears (because it is dead) it will not re-apear on undo.

(replicate by creating a geom, timetolive=1, ondie = (e)=>{app.undo}, your object will dissapear once it dies)
onDie works perfectly in this case, good job =D

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:43 pm
by emilk
New version, with fixes for:

* Fixed undo of time-to-live killed entities
* Fixed issue with move-tool snapping of line end-points
* Fixed alpha premultiply of sky color
* Fixed rare bug when deserializing old scenes with "group" entity attribute
* Ghost window when dragging a sub-menu from a fixed context menu
* Issue with ghost objects when removing a layer from the scene
* Sim.frequency not set to 100 for old scenes
* onCollide not working
* Autosave closes context menu

Link updated

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:45 pm
by Kilinich
there are more features than Emil says -)

* Layers support, new layers menu window
* New velocityDamping geom property (good for water sim)
* New timeToLive entity property (good for particles)
* New adhesion geom property (objects could stick together)
* New area geom property (now you can calc mass)
* New disableCollision springs property (I suggest add the same for hinges)
* New resources entity property (seems not used, probably for future features)
* New math. functions - atan2
* New math.vec. functions - dist, distSq, len, lenSq
* New keys.isDown function
* Default sim freq now 60Hz
* New entity "contact", to create call scene.addContact (used for adhesion simulation I guess)

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:14 pm
by faytree
Nice update,can you review a video how the 2.1.0 works? Of course at your algoryx channel emilk.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:46 pm
by faytree
Nce improvement,but my dad went out for two months so can you please make a video review? It's okay if you can't do it.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:53 am
by mugsy
I have algodoo installed on windows XP. All of a sudden with this new version I get an error, something about kernel32.dll

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:06 pm
by emilk
mugsy wrote:I have algodoo installed on windows XP. All of a sudden with this new version I get an error, something about kernel32.dll


I'll fix that for b5

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 5:43 am
by mori-d
emilk wrote:* IMP: Sim frequency now 60 Hz by default (matches most display refresh rates)

Damn ! Why is not 120Hz ?

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:06 am
by tatt61880
There are more features than emilk say -) -)
* NEW: Experimental layers support. New layers menu in background menu.
* NEW: Adhesion geom property (objects could stick together)
* NEW: Spongify
* NEW: On screen keyboard - toggle by show/hide menu.
* NEW: Special tooltips for touch only devices. ( *_Touch in translation file.)

Btw, what difference between "frame" and "simulation step"? Same?
emilk wrote:** postStep - called after each simulation step
** update - called each frame

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:42 am
by electronicboy
mori-d wrote:
emilk wrote:* IMP: Sim frequency now 60 Hz by default (matches most display refresh rates)

Damn ! Why is not 120Hz ?


Now, maybe when Algodoo 3D is released, 120Hz will be reasonable...
But, for now, as most 2D monitors are 60Hz, lets stick to that, k?

/Electronicboy

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:03 am
by Kilinich
mori-d wrote:
emilk wrote:* IMP: Sim frequency now 60 Hz by default (matches most display refresh rates)

Damn ! Why is not 120Hz ?

np with 60Hz since sim.frequency now stored with scene, so just set it to anything you want.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:26 pm
by mori-d
electronicboy wrote:
mori-d wrote:
emilk wrote:* IMP: Sim frequency now 60 Hz by default (matches most display refresh rates)

Damn ! Why is not 120Hz ?


Now, maybe when Algodoo 3D is released, 120Hz will be reasonable...
But, for now, as most 2D monitors are 60Hz, lets stick to that, k?

/Electronicboy


http://www.algodoo.com/algobox/details.php?id=66800
I've tested in Algodoo 2.1.0 b5 the above latest my dog-robot scene.
(The scene was made in Phun 5.28)

If the Sim.frequency = 60, the dog cannot walk (all his legs are broken as soon as simulation starts...)
If the Sim.frequency = 100, the dog can walk though his legs are broken sometimes.
If the Sim.frequency = 120, the dog can walk so much better as 100Hz in Phun.

This is an accuracy issue of simulation, not a display issue.
* Note that the above scene is not so complicated. Don't you think so?


Proposal (to emilk)
How about adding slider GUI for controlling Sim.frequency?

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:30 am
by Kilinich
Also:

new thyme rand. functions (random values of different ranges):
rand.boolean
rand.direction2D
rand.normal
rand.normal2D
rand.uniform01

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:03 pm
by Kilinich
Also:

New thyme functions set. to work with lists
set.insert
set.merge

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:38 pm
by emilk
120 Hz takes twice the computational resources of 60 Hz. Yes, some old scenes built for 100 Hz won't work in 60 Hz, but they don't have to - they will be loaded to 100 Hz. If you make a scene from scratch you will either adapt it for that time step, or crank up the frequency to what your scene needs. I'll add a slider for it in options.

The question is only what the default should be, and I think 60 Hz will suffice for most things the average user does - but I like to hear your opinion on it!

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:02 pm
by electronicboy
I'd say, leave at 60Hz, it's the best frequency as for CPU - accuracy levels.

I'd possibly suggest adding a config variable to override your default, so the user can select their preferred frequency.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:20 pm
by mori-d
As long as a slider is added, anything is OK about default frequency.
Though I have no idea whether 60Hz is the best for almost users or not.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:54 am
by mold999
Kilinich wrote:Also:

new thyme rand. functions (random values of different ranges):
rand.boolean
rand.direction2D
rand.normal
rand.normal2D
rand.uniform01


Cool! Can you explain a little more about rand.uniform01?

Also, could someone explain onClick, onDie, onKey, and onSpawn please?

Thanks.
Gracias.
Merci.
Danke.
Спасибо.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:44 pm
by emilk
Beta 6:

* Added simulation frequency slider to options
* Fixed issue where some border and/or textures polygons would be drawn black.
* Fixed issue with web components getting stuck in loading state until mouse-over.
* Maximum slider value for hinge RPM now depends on simulation frequency.

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:54 pm
by tatt61880
emilk,
Thanks for b6. (Algodoo.exe says "it's b5" but has new feature. ;) )
* Please add newest Japanese Translation. I'd like to get more feedbacks from Japanese users against the translation.

mold999,
mold999 wrote:Also, could someone explain onClick, onDie, onKey, and onSpawn please?


For example, try to click next circle when simulation is on.
Code: Select all
Scene.addCircle{onClick=(e)=>{Scene.RemoveEntity(entity)}}

Try out other script by yourself and please summarize "how to use" for other people (in Thyme scripting). ;)

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:39 pm
by mori-d
emilk wrote:Beta 6:

* Added simulation frequency slider to options


Thanks!

BTW, update version number in menu/splash-window. :-)

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:46 pm
by tatt61880
emilk wrote: I've been working on taking Algodoo onto a new platform, and more info about that will be posted soon.

Emilk, when do you plan to talk this secret info? ;)

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:04 pm
by hiltropper
nice new features! thanks
one question : sometimes there is a short moment (a few seconds) when the running simluation slows down dramatically and there is no reason for me why this happens (doesnt depend on how much scripts i have or how many geometries are in the scene). algodoo never showed that behaviour to me before. where does it come from?

Re: 2.1.0 beta

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:22 pm
by RA2lover
i'm interested in having the default sim frequency set to 120hz instead of 60.

computers have improved since Algodoo was first released, however the main cause is the lack of movement which occours when the simulation speed is slowed down being much more noticeable at 60hz.