Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Official announcements from Algoryx and the Algodoo team. Updates, official contests, news, etc.

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Dare » Wed May 25, 2011 12:38 pm

Instead of pistons, why not just add an inertiaMultiplier to the spring?

I don't want to brag, but that's a pretty genius idea. Setting it to +inf would effectively create a piston.
User avatar
Dare
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Someone Else » Wed May 25, 2011 3:28 pm

A piston that you can't rotate. And has hinges on the ends. So it's really not a piston. But, I agree that the lineEndPoint bugs should be fixed, and the materialVelocity bug. I am part-way through a piston using Kilinich's K-Menus and powered by materialVelocity. Thus, I can't finish it sue to the total lack of working materialVelocity in 1.9.4.

MaterialVelocity does not work, so I can't make my piston scene. Or an improved mouse pointer I am thinking about.
User avatar
Someone Else
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:53 pm
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Jabberwock » Thu May 26, 2011 1:43 am

I confirm the spring bug.

It might not be evident, but it seems you cannot connect with a spring two objects which are fixed to the background. What is even weirder, you can connect two objects which are not fixed and when you fix them, the spring disappears! No slingshot for you, naughty boy.
Jabberwock
 

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Someone Else » Thu May 26, 2011 2:28 pm

Yes, Jabberwock, I already noticed and reported that. In the Help/Bug Reports forum. But, I don't think the admins go there very often. They're more likely to notice it here.
User avatar
Someone Else
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:53 pm
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby jobro » Thu May 26, 2011 8:55 pm

You know what I don't get? Why rename everything. Phunlets... OK I can see a reason, but Hinges to Axles, please. Then make a option with new/old names? (Or just make your own "translation")
jobro
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:57 pm

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Someone Else » Fri May 27, 2011 2:37 pm

Sonic made a translation that calls Hinges Hinges, then I modified it so it calls the Cut tool the Cut tool, also.
However, I don't remember what topic I uploaded it in, and the Official Announcements forum won't let me upload to it, so...

Also, I plan to fix some of the tutorials as well. I will upload that in the Algodoo Translations forum when I finish it.
User avatar
Someone Else
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:53 pm
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby lokie57 » Fri May 27, 2011 3:46 pm

when will mac version come?
lokie57
 

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby bozbez » Sun May 29, 2011 8:23 pm

Soon, i hope.
User avatar
bozbez
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:01 pm

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby hiltropper » Sun May 29, 2011 11:31 pm

okay i said it doesnt work on my lap but it works well on my tower pc, i tried out
nice idea with ropes and chains ,thruster too
confirm the spring bug , too

i dont know if it is a bug ,but i noticed :
if you put a thruster via snap to grid into the center of a symmetric box that aims to the top, the box will turn a bit right , not straight up. i could not find any reason for this behaviour and the "bug" was reproducible
so far
good work !
hiltropper
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Emanuel » Tue May 31, 2011 7:40 am

jobro wrote:You know what I don't get? Why rename everything. Phunlets... OK I can see a reason, but Hinges to Axles, please. Then make a option with new/old names? (Or just make your own "translation")

The reason hinges was renamed to axles is because they really are axles and not hinges, simple enough :)

lokie57 wrote:when will mac version come?

The Mac version is looking better every day and will hopefully be ready for the next beta release.

/ Emanuel
Algodoo Developer
Emanuel
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:46 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Joel » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:10 pm

A new version is released!

We know that this version has not fixed all important bugs yet. If you had problems with textures in 1.9.4, please try this version, as we hope to have fixed this issue.

You can find it here
Algodoo Developer
Joel
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:03 am

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby hiltropper » Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:28 pm

textures are okay now !
hiltropper
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby hiltropper » Wed Jun 01, 2011 8:33 pm

is it realistic that the linear term of air friction does not affect on rotating objects?
especially when you take a huge box and rotate it , it looks strange that it keeps turning around but when you push it it stops moving instantly (for airfriction =10 , term of air friction=10)
i would post this as edit in my last post but you havn't unlocked it yet sorry.
hiltropper
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby Someone Else » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:31 pm

I will try this new release this afternoon.
I really hope it fixes some of the other bugs.
User avatar
Someone Else
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:53 pm
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby tatt61880 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:46 pm

I've updated Japanese translation for v1.9.5b ;)
http://www.algodoo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=610&p=45956#p45956
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.4 Released!

Postby tatt61880 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:42 am

Sonic (10 May 2011, 06:57) wrote:Yay new Beta! Time to see in what amazing ways I can make Algodoo fail!

Yes. This is a time to show how good tester we are. ;)
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby electronicboy » Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:37 am

dropdown menu for undo and redo buttons sometimes appear off screen...

Mainly, munu bar down at botom, dropdown menu "drops down" off the screen.

This happens every once in a while (problem fixes itself tempoarily when you move menubar to the top and back down to bottom).
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby Frank » Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:33 pm

What's the point in the "erase" tool? Just right click with the brush. It even says so in the description. I hope it has more purpose than filling up an empty space in the GUI. There's also a spelling error in the tooltip for the brush. "Too" should be "To." I know Algoryx is not in an English-speaking country, but I figured it was worth mentioning.

My file menus are all coming up blank since I updated. This makes loading new scenes difficult. The files are all where they belong, and new files are saved normally, but all I get in the in-game file menus is the title in the upper right hand corner, the minimize/maximize buttons, and a filter box if that menu has one.
User avatar
Frank
[Best Tutorial Maker 2010]
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: the dark side of the moon

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby Gear97 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:33 am

Wow ! Beta 1.9.5 is very good in some aspects, but disappointing at others.
I like the new tools, the direct solver, some other new features... But the interface is somewhat boring..
And some options just disappeared..
Are we going to stay without the "simulation speed" slider ?
What about "pallet" ?
Why these options are not there? You still working on algodoo's menus ?
User avatar
Gear97
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:34 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby bosiefus » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:54 am

i kinda like the old gui setup. like when all the boxes are located at the top of the screen. oh and when i press play it instantaneously crashes. cant wait for final version though
bosiefus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:58 pm

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby tatt61880 » Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:33 am

Gear97 wrote:Wow ! Beta 1.9.5 is very good in some aspects, but disappointing at others.
I like the new tools, the direct solver, some other new features... But the interface is somewhat boring..
And some options just disappeared..
Are we going to stay without the "simulation speed" slider ?
What about "pallet" ?
Why these options are not there? You still working on algodoo's menus ?


You will find the "simulation speed" slider. ;)
Image
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby Emanuel » Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:29 am

Gear97 wrote:Wow ! Beta 1.9.5 is very good in some aspects, but disappointing at others.
I like the new tools, the direct solver, some other new features... But the interface is somewhat boring..
And some options just disappeared..
Are we going to stay without the "simulation speed" slider ?
What about "pallet" ?
Why these options are not there? You still working on algodoo's menus ?

Palette is now called Scene Mood and it is located in the second tab in the Apperance menu to the right (the one looking like a palette).

/ Emanuel
Algodoo Developer
Emanuel
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:46 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby Emanuel » Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:24 am

electronicboy wrote:dropdown menu for undo and redo buttons sometimes appear off screen...

Mainly, munu bar down at botom, dropdown menu "drops down" off the screen.

This happens every once in a while (problem fixes itself tempoarily when you move menubar to the top and back down to bottom).

This has been fixed in the next version, thanks!

/ Emanuel
Algodoo Developer
Emanuel
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:46 am
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby Dare » Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:59 am

Can we expect any more betas between now and V2 release, or is next one major release?
User avatar
Dare
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Algodoo Beta 1.9.5 Released!

Postby Sonic » Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:54 pm

For some reason, the new beta refuses to save my preferences, like menu placement, options, etc.
User avatar
Sonic
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: America!!!

PreviousNext

Return to Official announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest