SUGGESTIONS FOR NEW SCENES

Discuss scenes and videos made with Algodoo.

SUGGESTIONS FOR NEW SCENES

Postby Xray » Sun Jul 22, 2012 5:46 am

I'm fairly new to Algodoo, and so I'm still learing as much as I can about this WONDERFUL program. One excellent way to learn how to make scenes is to download other people's creations. Many of the scenes in Algobox have fairly good information that describes the scene and how to control it, but MANY of the scenes have little to nothing that explains WHAT the scene is supposed to do, HOW to control it, and what to expect from it. Some authors simply state things like "Hope you like it!!!!" or "This is the BEST!", and many state nothing at all. For those scenes with limited or no descriptions, the user has to try to figure out how to control the scene, and what to expect from it. This can usually be done by reverse-engineering the scene, but most people, I'm sure, don't want to take the time to do that, especially if the scene is not that interesting or impressive. So, these are my suggestions for people when creating new scenes:

1. List all of the controls, such as keys and/or mouse buttons, and explain what each key does. If your scene runs automatically, and does not have any controls then state that fact.
2. Give a short description that describes what the scene is supposed to do, or what the end result is supposed to be. If your scene is a game, then describe how the game operates, and what the players need to do in order to win.
3. If your scene is a tutorial, such as a scene that explains how to spawn geometries via Thyme scripts, then your description should be very detailed that shows the proper syntax of the script, some examples of how to use the script, and explain what to expect from it. Give some working examples of scenes or "Phunlets" that use the particular scripts.