Can't do anything with Algobox !

Things specific to the scene sharing facility "algobox". New scenes, bugs, suggestions, etc.

Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Thooto » Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:28 pm

Hello,

This morning I was on the Algobox, all was normal. But when I came back, this afternoon, I couldn't download any of the scenes. :(

There only were the informations of the scene, I couldn't see the image, and when I tried to download them, the message appeared :

File: exemple.phz
I'm sorry, but the file you were looking for does not appear to exist on Algobox


So, that's really annoying, I can't download anymore any of the scenes on Algobox. The problem is also on the quick-Algobox of Algodoo.

I don't know if I'm the only one who has this bug, and it will be great if anybody could explain me what's happening! :)

Thanks!
Thooto
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby electronicboy » Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:44 pm

Looks like the algobox site is having a database/file access issue...
The images have gone now. Ill try to contact one of the developers.
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Nxdt » Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:37 pm

I Have the same issues. Has algobox ran out of memory or something?
User avatar
Nxdt
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:32 pm
Location: Scotland!

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Thooto » Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:45 pm

Hey,

A new scene has been added to Algobox (from somebody, as everyone could do before), and we can download it without any problems. So only the scenes added before the "crash" of Algobox are out of function.

So... I don't know what it means, but maybe you two are right.
Thooto
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby monstertje3 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 8:34 pm

maybe the server was hacked?
Basically, there are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright until they open their mouths.
User avatar
monstertje3
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: N-H, NL

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby electronicboy » Sat Dec 17, 2011 8:54 pm

Ive sent a message to both emil and kenneth!

It seams like the actually files where lost, or the database was damaged (less likely)

I mean, the database is being read from fine, but, the scene images and files linked referenced in the database, are missing. Or, the image and file references in the database are damaged...


Personally, it looks like a piece of hardware has crashed or failed. :S
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby sheepborg » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:19 pm

Hasnt this happened once before? in my memory at least.
The last database error (or access error anyways) was the one that caused the whole scene sharing section to be gone, it was a nonfunctioning page then that had a white screen.

So my guess is it doesnt have to do with access so much as the files being corrupted or lost or something?

Hope everything is brought to normal soon.
User avatar
sheepborg
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:44 pm
Location: North Carolina USA

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Wild Bill » Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:07 pm

I just tested to see if we can still edit and reupload our old scenes so we can keep our ratings and download count and we are able to replace our own scenes. This way if the old scenes are lost and theres no backup then we can replace the scenes our self without loosing ratings.

I only replaced one scene until we find out if the Algobox is fixable or if there is a backup.
User avatar
Wild Bill
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:50 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby electronicboy » Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:26 pm

if reuploading the scenes seam to fix it, it seams like the files where lost. this MIGHT be a hardware or a software issue on the servers.

They SHOULD, in theory, keep backups, but well, not all companys do.
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby tatt61880 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:14 pm

@algoryx (Twitter) wrote:Disk crash at algodoo.com and service provider failed with backup. Restoring old backups and the broken disk. Have patience please.

This message was tweeted 2 hours ago.
NOTE: I'm not an Algoryx member.
Hi, Algodoo lovers. Have you read next topic? Featured scenes suggestions
To translators: English.cfg changelog will be useful (even for me).
User avatar
tatt61880
[Most Helpful Person 2010]
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby monstertje3 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:43 pm

facebook :D http://www.facebook.com/Algodoo

We have had a disk crash on the server for the Algodoo website and the automatic shadow backup did not kick in the way it should. Working on it and hope everything will be up again shortly. Sorry for the inconvencience.
Basically, there are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright until they open their mouths.
User avatar
monstertje3
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: N-H, NL

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby electronicboy » Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:25 pm

algodoo- facebook wrote:We're still missing many tens of thousands of files from Algobox. It appears, Lukas, that the backup script of the service provides didn't like that there were so many files in a single directory.


It looks like they have lost alot of the files! however, they MAY be able to recover them somehow, it all depends on there providers setup and possible other issues.

We will just have to sit and wait.
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Banjerboef » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:58 pm

I think this crash is a bit odd, because if I remember it correctly they moved all the files to a new server a few months ago. And now the new server has failed.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Banjerboef » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:07 pm

From Facebook: "We're still missing many tens of thousands of files from Algobox. It appears, Lukas, that the backup script of the service provides didn't like that there were so many files in a single directory."

The cause is exactly where I was thinking of, a software error.
I think it is time that they give 'Lukas' a update.
But as always things are always solved/updated after something had gone (terribly) wrong.

Tip:
Make folders for every year and in those folders you can make folders for each month.
You'll have a lot of separate folders, but not a lot of files in them.
This way it's a lot easier to keep track of all these files.

By the way, putting a lot of files in one folder had never been a good idea.
Especially when you are talking about tens of thousands of files.
With so many files the risk of losing them is just too high.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Matten » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:24 pm

I don't see the difference between losing a lot of files and losing a lot of files AND the folders they were sorted in, but that's probably just me.

I also noticed that a few (probably re-uploaded) scenes are downloadable again.
Cave Johnson wrote:Do you know who I am? I'm the man who's gonna burn your house down! With the lemons! I'm gonna get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that burns your house down!
User avatar
Matten
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Banjerboef » Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:37 pm

Matten wrote:I don't see the difference between losing a lot of files and losing a lot of files AND the folders they were sorted in, but that's probably just me.


The difference is simple, the back up software "lukas" can't handle a lot of files in one folder.
So, putting them in different folders should solve the problem.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby electronicboy » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:05 am

Banjerboef wrote:From Facebook: "We're still missing many tens of thousands of files from Algobox. It appears, Lukas, that the backup script of the service provides didn't like that there were so many files in a single directory."

The cause is exactly where I was thinking of, a software error.
I think it is time that they give 'Lukas' a update.
But as always things are always solved/updated after something had gone (terribly) wrong.


Lukas, is one of the old site developers. Ken used the name "lukas" to mention that he was talking to lukas...

fixed copy:
"We're still missing many tens of thousands of files from Algobox. It appears that the backup script of the service providers didn't like that there were so many files in a single directory."
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Bazinga » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:01 am

They'd better fix it soon, Christmas is coming up and people probably would like to have a fully functional Algobox.
Bazinga
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:14 am

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Banjerboef » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:41 am

Due to a stupid error of mine (first copy/past, then read (by doing copy/past, the blue underlinings under Lukas disappeared)),
I am quoted by a guy named Shane Freeder :clap: .

@Shane Freeder: Please don't quote anything stupid!!!
You know Lukas is a person, and I thought it was the name of the software.
These mistakes can happen to anyone who don't know all the staff at Algoryx/Algodoo.

I read the mentioned phrase, "It appears, Lukas, that the ...", like I normally do.
Thinking that the word between the two "," is the name of the software.
In this case it ment the name of one of the old site developers.
Electronicboy recognised this mistake :thumbup: , luckily, and I apologize for the reading error.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby electronicboy » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:00 pm

Banjerboef wrote:
I am quoted by a guy named Shane Freeder :clap: .

@Shane Freeder: Please don't quote anything stupid!!!

1. Your welcome :P
2. Its too late for that!

Lukas's comment to my quote:
But.. But.. how can I be conscious if I am only software?
I feel sad now, which I can't, because software never feels sad.
When asking for help, READ THE STICKIES!
electronicboy
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:18 pm

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Matten » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Banjerboef wrote:Please don't quote anything stupid!!!

I'm so looking to something stupid you're going to say in your next 2 posts in this topic to sig :P
Cave Johnson wrote:Do you know who I am? I'm the man who's gonna burn your house down! With the lemons! I'm gonna get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that burns your house down!
User avatar
Matten
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Banjerboef » Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:17 pm

I don't care about the qoute anymore, because if I wasn't qouted I couldn't laugh at Lukas' comment :lol: .
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Banjerboef » Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:25 pm

@Lukas: If you are software, how do you know that you can't feel sad?
Last edited by Banjerboef on Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Banjerboef
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby monstertje3 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:51 pm

1 software has no emotions (NEVER)
2 don't double post
Basically, there are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright until they open their mouths.
User avatar
monstertje3
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: N-H, NL

Re: Can't do anything with Algobox !

Postby Matten » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:51 pm

monstertje3 wrote:1 software has no emotions (NEVER)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kismet_(robot)
Cave Johnson wrote:Do you know who I am? I'm the man who's gonna burn your house down! With the lemons! I'm gonna get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that burns your house down!
User avatar
Matten
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Next

Return to Algobox scene sharing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest