create a playable output, with the edit screens hidden?

Suggest changes and improvements to Algodoo.

create a playable output, with the edit screens hidden?

Postby spook1 » Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:20 am

For me, as an educatorm, it would be really nice if it was possible to save an algodoo scene as a playable output, with the edit options locked or hidden.

This way I can create scenes for my pupils, to explore and learn from. Without them having the option to ruin the setup by chnaging the objects.
This way I can make a serious game (especially when it is possible to skip from one scene to another using some kind of hyperlink option
Would such a thing be possible?

regards

martijn
spook1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:06 am

Re: create a playable output, with the edit screens hidden?

Postby Chronos » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:44 am

well, to hide the menus, ask gradyfitz about them, because he knows the way

as for going straight to another scene, some people (who dont work for algoryx) are currently working to make this possible :D
TheWinkits wrote:They both looks of cuking amazing
User avatar
Chronos
[Most Active Member 2010]
 
Posts: 4457
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: Californania

Re: create a playable output, with the edit screens hidden?

Postby gradyfitz » Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:46 pm

spook1 wrote:For me, as an educatorm, it would be really nice if it was possible to save an algodoo scene as a playable output, with the edit options locked or hidden.

This way I can create scenes for my pupils, to explore and learn from. Without them having the option to ruin the setup by chnaging the objects.
This way I can make a serious game (especially when it is possible to skip from one scene to another using some kind of hyperlink option
Would such a thing be possible?

regards

martijn

Hi Martijn,

You have a few options you could do here:
  1. Make a video, this wouldn't necessarily be the best course of action, but could be the most familiar.
  2. Use scripting to do what you want to do:
    1. Select the texture tool.
    2. Put:
      Code: Select all
      GUI.clickTimeTolerance = 0;GUI.opacity = 0

      into the console (F11 or Tilde ("~")).
    3. Use Scene.Open("<Replace this area with scene name>.phz") or Scene.loadScene("<Replace this area with scene name>.phz")
    4. Use:
      Code: Select all
      GUI.clickTimeTolerance = 0.3;GUI.opacity = 0.8

      to get the system back to interactive.

Hopefully this was useful.

/ Grady
Mechanisms: 18 Mechanisms.
Thyme: Tutorial - Variables/Commands List.
Thymechanic
gradyfitz
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Victoria, Australia


Return to Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests