Will Algodoo ever support multi-cored users?

Suggest changes and improvements to Algodoo.

Will Algodoo ever support multi-cored users?

Postby Alex_Mercer » Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:56 pm

Hello there people, this is my first post.

I am sorry if this sounds stupid, as I am not a programmer/developer or anyone.

I have an i7 3770 (8 threads) going full speed O/Ced @ 4.5 GHz. Whenever I run algodoo, I noticed that it is only using one THREAD, not even a whole core. I've got 7 more threads sitting around and doing nothing. IF algodoo somehow allowed parallel computing, that would be cool- it will be at least 5-6 times better and faster!

So, what do you think? Does this idea sound... perhaps retarded? Please correct me if I am wrong. Thanks, and have a nice day! :D
Alex_Mercer

Re: Will Algodoo ever support multi-cored users?

Postby Kilinich » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:08 am

not gonna happened
Dream of Algodoo as game development engine...
Kilinich
[Best bug reporter 2010]

Postby faytree » Sat Jan 31, 2015 1:03 pm

Kilinich wrote:not gonna happened

I Agree,Kilinich. Well,the main Algodoo developer which is Emil Ernenfeldt just left algobox 2 years ago. So yeh
waiting for semester break to come...
faytree

Postby electronicboy » Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:54 pm

The issue is with the complexity of multi-core processing. You have to have multiple separate programs all communicating with one another, sure, multicore processing for some applications can pull out raw power boosts; however they add a lot of complexity to the applications processing and in some cases the level of work in order to convert an application to run multi-threaded outweighs the advantages of multi-core processing.