Page 1 of 1

how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:33 am
by jakedmoon
im working on v2 of my s10 and i was going to add a dashboard to it
however i have no real clue how

any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:07 am
by Kilinich
I've see and make few types:

1) Completely mechanical (speed is measured by air friction)
2) Probe + mechanical instruments: arrows and scripted springs/motors
3) Probe + textured arrow with scripted textureMatrix which it rotating image of arrow
4) Probe + force visualization arrow with scripted attraction force

You can search through algobox for "dashboard"

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:52 pm
by jakedmoon
i know i could get one off phunbox but i would like to make my own (not sure if thats what you mean though)
and i cant script (i dont know why it just doesnt seem to work for me)
so i would like to know how to make a mechanical one

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:16 am
by Mystery
Create your dashboard how ever you like, make it's density precisely 0.01 (The density of air, this will make it seem weightless) Change airfrictionmult to 0 and inertiamultiplier to +inf. At this stage it should not be affected by anything other then contacting another object, so make sure it's collision level will not touch anything (Even the ground). Next attach it to you car/plane/boat with a single rod putting hinges on both ends, you can make this rod have 0.1 density and 0 airfrictionmult. From there you can add anything you want onto your dashboard using this process.

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:57 am
by jakedmoon
okay but how do you make the speedometer work and such

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 am
by Mystery
Given you don'y know much thyme your are going to have to use a third party one.
For example
http://www.algodoo.com/algobox/details.php?id=39493

If you want to do something basic you can get Kilinich's kl-probe (It's awesome ;)) and set a display linked to k1speed or if you have a car linked to k1vel(0) (Horizontal speed only) as a simple 2 minute example
K1 example.phz
(7.65 KiB) Downloaded 76 times


Otherwise if you want to get craft yo can make something that measures airfriction if you tune it right they turn out pretty awesome. Plus everyone loves a phundamentalist.

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:37 pm
by jakedmoon
do you have any phun speedometers? its not hard to be a phundamentalist if i only have phun :lol:

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:10 am
by Mystery
http://www.algodoo.com/algobox/details.php?id=9372, you might need to retune it as is was made for phun 4.
Although you can use this (You must give credit to the author in your scene) it would be better if you used it as an example and made your own :thumbup:

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:49 pm
by Dare
Mystery wrote:Change airfrictionmult to 0 and inertiamultiplier to +inf.


No inertiamultiplier in Phun. He will have to find some other way to keep it still. That's what restricted me in Phun, making a dashboard is extremely difficult with control over inertia.

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:10 am
by Mystery
Dashboards were made in phun. If you do the rest like i said it will have no interaction with the anything else except via the rod. position the rod on the center of gravity and you should be golden.