how do i make a dashboard?

Post your tutorials here.

how do i make a dashboard?

Postby jakedmoon » Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:33 am

im working on v2 of my s10 and i was going to add a dashboard to it
however i have no real clue how

any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated
Ουλές αποτελούν απόδειξη ότι το παρελθόν υπήρχε.
User avatar
jakedmoon
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: earth

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby Kilinich » Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:07 am

I've see and make few types:

1) Completely mechanical (speed is measured by air friction)
2) Probe + mechanical instruments: arrows and scripted springs/motors
3) Probe + textured arrow with scripted textureMatrix which it rotating image of arrow
4) Probe + force visualization arrow with scripted attraction force

You can search through algobox for "dashboard"
Dream of Algodoo as game development engine...
User avatar
Kilinich
[Best bug reporter 2010]
 
Posts: 2098
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: South Russia

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby jakedmoon » Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:52 pm

i know i could get one off phunbox but i would like to make my own (not sure if thats what you mean though)
and i cant script (i dont know why it just doesnt seem to work for me)
so i would like to know how to make a mechanical one
Ουλές αποτελούν απόδειξη ότι το παρελθόν υπήρχε.
User avatar
jakedmoon
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: earth

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby Mystery » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:16 am

Create your dashboard how ever you like, make it's density precisely 0.01 (The density of air, this will make it seem weightless) Change airfrictionmult to 0 and inertiamultiplier to +inf. At this stage it should not be affected by anything other then contacting another object, so make sure it's collision level will not touch anything (Even the ground). Next attach it to you car/plane/boat with a single rod putting hinges on both ends, you can make this rod have 0.1 density and 0 airfrictionmult. From there you can add anything you want onto your dashboard using this process.
User avatar
Mystery
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Southern Australia

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby jakedmoon » Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:57 am

okay but how do you make the speedometer work and such
Ουλές αποτελούν απόδειξη ότι το παρελθόν υπήρχε.
User avatar
jakedmoon
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: earth

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby Mystery » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 am

Given you don'y know much thyme your are going to have to use a third party one.
For example
http://www.algodoo.com/algobox/details.php?id=39493

If you want to do something basic you can get Kilinich's kl-probe (It's awesome ;)) and set a display linked to k1speed or if you have a car linked to k1vel(0) (Horizontal speed only) as a simple 2 minute example
K1 example.phz
(7.65 KiB) Downloaded 71 times


Otherwise if you want to get craft yo can make something that measures airfriction if you tune it right they turn out pretty awesome. Plus everyone loves a phundamentalist.
User avatar
Mystery
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Southern Australia

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby jakedmoon » Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:37 pm

do you have any phun speedometers? its not hard to be a phundamentalist if i only have phun :lol:
Ουλές αποτελούν απόδειξη ότι το παρελθόν υπήρχε.
User avatar
jakedmoon
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: earth

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby Mystery » Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:10 am

http://www.algodoo.com/algobox/details.php?id=9372, you might need to retune it as is was made for phun 4.
Although you can use this (You must give credit to the author in your scene) it would be better if you used it as an example and made your own :thumbup:
User avatar
Mystery
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Southern Australia

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby Dare » Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:49 pm

Mystery wrote:Change airfrictionmult to 0 and inertiamultiplier to +inf.


No inertiamultiplier in Phun. He will have to find some other way to keep it still. That's what restricted me in Phun, making a dashboard is extremely difficult with control over inertia.
ImageImage
TC42 wrote:Dare, you are creepy.

Official Algobox Admin! Please PM me if you have any issues regarding Algobox.
User avatar
Dare
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: how do i make a dashboard?

Postby Mystery » Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:10 am

Dashboards were made in phun. If you do the rest like i said it will have no interaction with the anything else except via the rod. position the rod on the center of gravity and you should be golden.
User avatar
Mystery
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:16 pm
Location: Southern Australia


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest