Movement Simulation Problem

Post your tutorials here.

Movement Simulation Problem

Postby nuclearist » Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:58 pm

Hi. I am a physics teacher and i am new in Algodoo. So, could you help me to simule below question, please. Thanks a lot.

Suppose I have two identical masses, m1 and m2, that are both sliding along a frictionless horizontal surface with the same speed and direction. When they reach point A, m1 continues as before, but m2 drops into a depression in the surface. I'm not specifying anything about the shape of this depression except that it is smooth and continuous, and it does not drop so suddenly that m2 loses contact with it - in other words, gravity is sufficient to keep m2 on the surface (no cliffs or walls). Which mass will arrive at point B first?

nuclearist

Re: Movement Simulation Problem

Postby FRA32 » Mon Jan 11, 2016 3:26 pm

There are 2 cases:

A: m2 slides down, and does not keep enough velocity to come back up. This is usually the case if it drops from the surface when entering the hole, which is not the case here, or if it collides with uneven terrain, causing it to make tiny jumps up and down, loosing velocity in the process.

B: m2 reaches B first, since it accellerates after A, causing it's velocity to increase, and the time to pass the area between AB to decrease. Once it decellerates again, it returns to it's original velocity, but with the distance boost of the accellerated part, and reaches B first.