Bending light

If you have problems installing or running Algodoo, have found a bug or need in-game help - this is it!

Bending light

Postby docg » Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:35 am

Can anyone Bend light without changing the light speed?
The light should re appear at the other side and would look like as if nothing happened
No mirrors
Ending:Date 20 Nov 2009 GMT +08:00
docg

Re: Bending light

Postby KarateBrot » Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:15 am

That's no contest. and by the way as a hobby physicist i can say it's not possible
KarateBrot

Postby RaRaMalum » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:20 am

algodoo:
infinite speed means its just there, which in turn means nothing can change it(maybe infinite atraction can, haven't tried it).

Realworld:
infinite is one of those terms mathematicians doesn't like as it usually fucks up their formula(read up on blackholes). But as in algodoo infinite isn't changable(infinite / 2 = infinite)
Phundamentalists, come to the dark side.
We have much cooler toys.
RaRaMalum
[Best newcomer 2010]

Postby docg » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:14 am

Bending light is possible in the real world the gov made one but its SO small
docg

Postby KarateBrot » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:34 am

docg wrote:Bending light is possible in the real world the gov made one but its SO small

of course. but only because even in real life light does not travel with infinite speed.
KarateBrot

Postby Conundrumer » Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:05 am

You can bend light in your kitchen. Just turn on the stove and look at the blurry background. But that's due to refraction.
The speed of light in a vacuum in real life is around 3*10^8 meters per second, which is not anywhere near infinite (nothing is, really).
Also, it's plain impossible, since you're trying to get Algodoo to do something it "physically" can't do, like making the text in a box physical without drawing additional polygons.
Conundrumer

Postby davidz40 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:42 pm